Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm Norman, I'm 25 and I'm doing a Master in mechanical engineering in Zürich ( Homepage - Multi-Scale Robotics Lab – Multi-Scale Robotics Lab | ETH Zurich )
It's almost ten years that I ride motorbikes, I've started with a TZR 50 due to laws, then a T250, a GS500 and a RGV250 for trackdays. Around 20 I understood that "being closed into a cage" wasn't what I wanted, so I've bought my first trial motorbike.
Since then I've owned different trial motorbikes and this year I realized that I was missing a motorbikes for touring (Touring with a T250 is a way much complicated), so in March 2015 I've bought a cheap KLE500 and I've discovered the world of trail bikes. After have ridden through the Pyrenee (9 days in July 2015 and only on asphalt roads, because I've meet there with my father and sister...they went to Portugal on a Vincent Black Shadow....that's another story :lol:) I've started realizing that couriosity of meeting new people and seeing new places is what is moving me. So in September 2015 I've ridden through the West-North part of Balkans for two weeks (mostly on Gravel and not in common places*)...but KLE has some limits so I was need something better.
And here I come to the point that allows me to introduce myself to you.
I've bough a xrv 650:
honda-africa-twin-ab-mfk-guenstig-2026047277.jpg honda-africa-twin-ab-mfk-guenstig-2081746847.jpg honda-africa-twin-ab-mfk-guenstig-2001073313.jpg

Let's talk about the bike. I want to get it ready for riding "everywhere", so I need your help :)

- There is some rust on the wheel side of the silencer, there are already some holes and it is clearly visible that someone has already welded it (Not a good work). So I would like to change it by keeping a low profile (noise and similar to the original). I think Marving is a good one because allows to use the original heat shield. Any pro and cons on it?