Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear all, my name's Bertie Simmonds and I'm a freelance motorcycle journalist.

I'm doing a used road test of adventure bikes and would dearly love to include one of the best-ever big-trailies - the Africa Twin.

Sadly, I've been let down by a dealer, but would love to include the Honda, if I can. So, would an owner like to help?
The test is next week (25th or 26th) and basically if anyone has a neat, as new-as-possible Africa Twin, you can join us and ride the other used bikes we have got together and have a jolly good time. We will be starting out from RiDE's HQ in Peterborough, so it may help if you're somewhere near the Midlands.

The more standard the bike the better and it needs to be indicative of the sort of used Twins people can expect to find out there at the moment.

To show I'm legit, my details are:
www.bertiesimmonds.com
[email protected]

07899 961912

Please contact me and if you do come along you'll star in a future issue of RiDE Magazine!

Cheers!

Bertie Simmonds

·
Wing Commander
14,437 Posts
So a beaten up RD04 hand-painted to look like a zebra is of no interest to you then?

If you get stuck I can strip it and put original HOnda Red, white and blue livery back on, including a spare tank.

But it's not standard. It has K&N cone air filters, a hagon shock, rebuilt wheels with an RD07-size rim.

And it backfires due to an air leak I have not got round to fixing.

It has 90,000 miles on the clock but I still reckon it would give most other trailees a run for their money.:thumbup:

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hee hee! I bet it would give all other 'newer' adventure bikes a run for its money!!!!

Will let you know, but more standard is what I'm after. Newer too, if possible!

Thanks though!

·
Registered
2,992 Posts
If I have lived nearby I would have loved to join in!