Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Tea boy
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first time I have ever interacted with any web site chatty thing, so if I screw up please feel free to hurl abuse. I spotted an earlier thread about Airhawks and what size should they buy, so I thought this might be of some use to any one with a little madness. I went to a Touratech weekend back in September on my 82 CX500. I was trying to find a bike that really did it for me. The whole site was just tiled with BMW GS 1200’s etc. This was enough to completely turn me off of my BMW thoughts, and this was when I saw my first AT. I asked quite a few people about the AT and everybody said, great bike but uncomfortable on long rides. I also noticed the amount of people with these Airhawks, some were carrying them around, well at £100 a time it’s not surprising. A lovely guy gave me his keys and let me ride his AT whilst holding my son hostage of course. I had ridden no further than 50 yards and I knew this was for me. On my return from this weekend, I hunted down the best I could not afford, a 2003 with only 9k on the clock. I also bought a S/H med Airhawk from ebay, I just could not condone spending the full price for a miniature air bed. I summoned up the courage got the keys and took the seat off my lovely new bike, then pulled all the staples out from underneath and removed the cover, put the seat back on the bike and made myself comfortable. With a felt tip marker I made a mark at the front and back of me. Took the seat off again and laid the Airhawk out of it’s cover on the foam between the two marks, giving the extra Airhawk length to the rear, covering the back felt tip mark, so when you really sit in to the bike you don’t run out of the comfort area. When I was happy with the position I drew round the Airhawk, and with a very sharp knife cut this section out of the seat. With a piece of plastic brewing tube, I extended the air filler pipe, so it went right thro