Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:confused:

I'm looking at replacing my rear brake pads.

1) Mr. Haynes says push the caliper against the disc to press the old pads back in so when they're removed there's enough space to get the new ones in. How hard should I be pressing? I've no experience of working on disc brakes (though plenty on drum brakes, and the blood blisters to prove it!), and I've pressed, but to little avail (it gets a bit looser on the disc, but no real room created). Maybe I need to be more brutal with it? I've seen people trying to force pads in (with caliper off) using a screwdriver. Is this a more effective technique? (Haynes talks about venting the hydraulic system via the bleed screw if need be, but I want to avoid getting into that if at all possible.) Reservoir is up to half way between min and max, by the way.

2) Haynes says watch out for brake pad spring, but no illustration. Is this likely to fly out, and if so is its correct position fairly obvious?

3) Various threads talk about cleaning out and greasing up the caliper while at it. Should I be using meths, water or what, to clean. Is it fairly obvious what needs to be greased and where grease is a no-no? Should I be using hi-temperature brake grease?

4) Pad on one side is much more worn than the other. Is this normal-ish, or a sign of something amiss?

Your help will be appreciated.

·
Administrator
6,922 Posts
1) You should need a fairly firm shove to get the pistons back into the caliper, but it should not be giving you a hernia. I would suspect that one of the pistons is stuck, which is borne out by the fact that one pad is much more worn than the other. Looks like a caliper off job to give it a damn good clean, so's that you know it's right.