Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
as title of thread.

just got myself another T/A and clutch slips when trying to accelerate hard. gentle use and its ok. not had chance to put it on centre stand yet to check oil but seller has reciept for oil and filter change.

·
geriatric
2,474 Posts
won't cause slip but can destroy the engine. clutch relies on having oil to work.
just lean the bike up against a wall or held up by a helper,more accurate check for oil level if done on level ground than on centre stand.

·
geriatric
2,474 Posts
oh and check the clutch cable has not been over adjusted that caan cause slip,if it has a slight amount of slack engine end,ie it is not bow string tight and the arm can release completely,otherwise you have to maybe look at a new clutch.

·
Bling Tastic Transalp
1,362 Posts
I am not an expert , but maybe the oil was changed with the wrong type of oil .. could cause slip .. But I would check level asap , maybe do a oil change with correct oil just for piece of mind.

Someone that is an expert, will no doubt be along shortly to tell you for sure.

·
geriatric
2,474 Posts
I am not an expert , but maybe the oil was changed with the wrong type of oil .. could cause slip .. But I would check level asap , maybe do a oil change with correct oil just for piece of mind.

Someone that is an expert, will no doubt be along shortly to tell you for sure.
he's right, Forgot that bit, if car synthetic or semi synthetic has been used it'll slip as it has anti-properties as far as the clutch is concerned,and some fully synthetics unsuitable,but if you have a receipt it should have been done properly. Ring the oil changer and ask what he used.

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
will have a proper look in the morning,cant be too bad as i rode it home.
just may need to talk to seller about it,if it needs a clutch i think he should have known and dropped the price?

·
Registered
114 Posts