Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I havnt posted on this page for a while as I havnt been using my Dommie due to other bikes taking up my spare time.
My flatside carb sounds like it needs a bit of adjustment and I am not an expert on them.
The plug was sooty black so I wound the air mixture out a full turn and this is how the bike sounds right now.(not as bad as it was)
If I can get the carb sorted so the bike dont sound so rough I can start riding it on a dialy basis before winter arrives.
I would appreciate any advice to be had from you chaps.:thumbup:

https://youtu.be/W3YPAd-ntb8

If I cant get it to run any smoother I will take the flatside off and put my standard carb back on and sell the flatside as summer is almost over and my latest project needs a bit more work.:(:(:(

20632676_1896320250383983_409543575_n.jpg 20668020_1896320180383990_155261776_n.jpg
I had to sell my CX500 because my current project is going to have lots of expensive parts fitted that will probably cost over £1000....:happy2::happy2::happy2:

·
Registered
942 Posts
here we go again,
are you checking your plug after a good run when the engine is fully warmed up , 5 miles or so ?
that adjuster isn't an air screw its a fuel screw , turning it out makes the pilot mixture richer not leaner,
it will only affect the running up to about 1/8 throttle if you think its too rich at very small throttle openings turn it in not out,
when the engine is fully warmed up 5 miles or so if you blip the throttle what do the revs do ?
revs hang up high before gradually dropping down - pilot setting too lean unwind pilot fuel screw
revs drop below normal tickover or stalls before gradually rising to normal tickover - pilot adjustment too rich turn fuel screw in

generally how does it run out on the road

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
here we go again,
You know I am useless at carbs Nick.