Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I want to do a compression test on my bike and have got a hold of a Gunson,s tester but I am not sure what to do next.
Isnt there a de-compression system on the cylinder head that would give a false reading if I just screw it in an thumb the starter and if so, how do I get round the problem.
I have never used this tester before but it is worth the couple of beers it cost me if it works.
Any help on doing a compression test would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
404 Posts
don't quote me but I think in the manual it gives 2 different ideal compression values depending on the speed the engine is rotating so I guess the lower speed and lower figure relates to when the automatic decompressor is doing it's job. having never had the rocker cover off I've always been intrigued as to how exactly the thing works but I know it disengages at higher speeds presumably as a result of centrifugal force.

·
Registered
35 Posts