Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I have a broken Dominator due to a seized engine. I have to replace the top part of the cylinder head as it's an early model, pre 95 engine but my bike is post 95 ( 1998) and the rubber inlet is slightly different. I have managed to lift of the rocker cover but I cant work out how to separate the cylinder head. As it stands, I have the whole engine out of the bike with the rocker cover off with the cam and 4 x valves in the cylinder head just looking at me... teasing me... knowing I cant work out what to do next. ( Sorry if I have got the names wrong of engine parts, this is my first time opening up an engine ). The below picture is not my bike but one I found on google but this is what mine is currently looking like. Just wondered if anyone could point out what to do next??
Many thanks,
Dan

·
Registered
2,275 Posts
Are you talking about the rubber inlet the carb goes into because you can just swap that from one engine to the other, if not you have to release the camchain tensioner and then remove the camchain sprocket to get the camshaft out and then remove the five bolts you can see in your photo

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for replying. The rubber inlet from my seized engine wont fit the spare engine cylinder head as the spacing is slightly different between early and late engines. How do I remove the cam chain tensioner? There is a round metal thing with a metal lip on it on the side of the engine, do I need to turn this? Sorry for the stupid questions! I have worked on cars and motorbikes for years as a diyer but never dabbled with the engine!

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Great stuff thanks. These things are usually a lot easier than you think once you've done it once or twice. Thanks very much.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·