Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new here and have recently bought a 1997 Dominator in relatively original condition. I've just been sorting our a few bits before I'm going to strip it down and build a scrambler around it.

It has started making this loud tapping / clicking sound that can only be described as sounding like a typewriter. It is only really on low revs, and it sounds like it is in time with the engine rhythm but it's hard to tell.

The valve clearance was checked recently I'm told but I will check that again.

Check out the video here and see what you think:

Thanks in advanced and I look forwards to getting involved in this forum over the next few months!

https://youtu.be/-DF4E5mL9Bk

Stucks

P.S. I'm loving the colour scheme of this original dommy body ;)

·
Registered
10 Posts
I'm no expert but sounds like timing chain or tensioner problem, someone with more knowledge than me may be able to help you, hope you get it sorted.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I believe that you can't adjust the tension as it is on a spring and auto adjusts.

Is this something I can check with the engine in situ?

Thanks

·
Registered
10 Posts
Yes it is self adjusting but spring can weaken or break. I googled your problem and on advrider.com i found nx650 is it the cam chain and if so? they have discuss similar noises to yours and explain how to check tensioner. Sorry don't know how to put a link up.
Regards.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Great - thanks, I'll check it out.

In general, if it is a loose cam chain, is it not a good idea to ride it until it's fixed? Or ok to ride as long as I fix it soon?

Thanks

·
Registered
10 Posts
Was quite noisy i'd look into more before i used it, does't look to difficult to check tensioner maybe you'l get some replies tonight might be more informed than me.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Bike sounds good apart from that odd noise