Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to ATs (well in fact to riding generally). Recently bought a 1990 RD04 - it seems to be in very nice condition. One question I had was about how smooth the engine should be. At about 3 - 5,000 rpm in 2nd / 3rd when you open up the throttle I get a fair amount of engine vibration transferred through the footpegs. No nasty noise etc. Is this normal for an AT / a characteristic of the 750 V twin or should I be worried and thinking there might be something wrong with engine bearings etc?

Cheers

·
2,701 Posts
First thing to check is chain tension, . . . . if too tight will cause vibration.

Lot's of threads on correct chain tension, . . just do search on chain tension / adjustment

ps.
the recomended slack according to honda is wrong. 60 to 70mm is usual.

and yes, there is normally some vibration, especially compared to 4 cylinder machines.

·
Registered
1,826 Posts
I'm new to ATs (well in fact to riding generally). Recently bought a 1990 RD04 - it seems to be in very nice condition. One question I had was about how smooth the engine should be. At about 3 - 5,000 rpm in 2nd / 3rd when you open up the throttle I get a fair amount of engine vibration transferred through the footpegs. No nasty noise etc. Is this normal for an AT / a characteristic of the 750 V twin or should I be worried and thinking there might be something wrong with engine bearings etc?

Cheers

They all do that. :D

Off the bat you mentioned no nasty noise etc...and that is a good sign...providing the engine appears smooth with no hicups and carbs seem to be synced..then I would'nt worry too much.

Do you have rubber inserts in your pegs like in the pic. They work.;)

·
Premium Member
7,170 Posts
As Airwolf says, check the chain tension, as an overtight chain will wreck your gearbox shaft in less than a thousand miles!

I think it could be down to one of the following;