Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
one-legged member
4,493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Inspired by a recent return to the Wetroads website about fords I decided to go out today and sample a few of my local ones.

First was this byway which is just 4 miles from my house, I have been riding this lane for over 30 years and it's changed a fair bit in that time....

Next was Wollard, this lane was under threat of being closed a couple of years ago but the council saw sense and just imposed a width limit to stop the 4x4's from using it as it is totally unsuitable for that use......

It's about 250 yds long and I have seen of few drowned bikes in here, it was up to the tank today and we've had hardly any rain recently

On I went to Stowey and just to show how dry it's been there was no ford to be seen...

It was time to get the flask out now for a coffee and what better place to stop than a nice quiet green lane....

Next was Rickford which has quite a lumpy bottom

and up onto the Mendips to ride this old droveway.......

I dropped off the Mendips and out onto the levels to do Wookey, an excellent ford with a varying surface....

I started heading back now the starter on my DR was playing up, did Chewton Mendip on the way home but it was more of a water-splash than a ford today....

Looks like I'll need a new rectifier and battery as it seems that was causing my starting problems, anyway it was a nice rideout all the same.

·
Registered
3,230 Posts
Looks good fun, nothing like that around our neck of the goods in the flatlands, this is the only one we have for miles around!!

Ford_with_Ducks_at_Alconbury_Weston_-_geograph_org_uk_-_461589.jpg

·
Registered
2,270 Posts
Excelent Bob you got some great Fords there:thumbright:
I'm a big fan of wet roads site myself got my bike on there in a few i discovered they didnt have :cool:

·
Deer Dodger
3,199 Posts
Cracking photos there Bob :thumbup:

Didn't realise there were so many fords about :D