Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, REALLY rookie mistake...
I heard a squeak from my engine the other day, so next time I went to it, I checked the engine for oil... dry as a bone.. ooops...

Anyhoo, I filled it, and let it tick over fora while..
got to the point where the engine sounded 'different' and a huge plume of white smoke was ejected out of my exhaust each time I turned her over.

Took her to the garage, and they tell me I've stuffed my pistons and cam shaft... :-(

So, I'm looking for a spares and repalrs dommy, OR any advise..
i'm a motorbike newbie (but I really should have known to check my oil more often)... so if there's any chance of getting round this without crying my self to sleep each time I look at my bank balance, I'd appreciate the advice...!!

Final Q.. can I buy an engine from any dommy and it'll fit, or do I ahve to buy the same year? (L reg.. 93?)

Cheers a bunch,
Tris... :-(

·
What did I do that for...
468 Posts
Doh.
An expensive lesson.

beertastic said:
Took her to the garage, and they tell me I've stuffed my pistons and cam shaft... :-(
Hopefully they didn't tell you Piston"S" since the dommie's only got one :shock:

Sorry, pedantic I know, but you need to make sure they're on top of their game.

Anyway the way I see it is you've two options:
1. Get the garage (or 'a' garage to fix it for many £££ :shock: :evil:
2. Get a new engine from eBay or the like for less £££, but then you'll need someone to fit it for more £££ :evil:

I don't know if any engine will fit (obviously I mean any Dommie engine :roll: :lol: ) but someone will be along later to give you a (more helpful :roll: ) answer.

Good luck anyways, and keep us posted.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thought as much...
I made the mistake with my first car too.. I didn't check anti freeze in time, and cracked my head gasket... booo...

Why must I learn things the hard way...!!!

·
468 Posts
beertastic said: