Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Wing Commander
14,437 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just fixed my speedo (I hope).

Putting the front wheel wheel back I noticed that I can knock the forks closer together without impinging on the wheel being able to turn etc. but should I?

Tightened using a torque wrench it would naturally sit flush (pic 1)

But I can knock it a fair way in, leaving the axle sticking out (Pic2)

or anywhere in between.

Advice please.

·
Older - maybe not wiser!
131 Posts
I'm no expert, but I'd expect not to apply any sideways force before tightening the clamp - so ensuring that the two fork legs remain unstressed and parallel. If you push them together, wouldn't that be likely to result in them being out of parallel?
The Honda manual for the Alp says to torque the axle, pull on the brake and "bounce" the front forks up and down a few times to seat things, then tighten the clamp plate. Is there any particular reason you'd want the fork closer to the speedo drive?

·
Wing Commander
14,437 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no expert, but I'd expect not to apply any sideways force before tightening the clamp - so ensuring that the two fork legs remain unstressed and parallel. If you push them together, wouldn't that be likely to result in them being out of parallel?
The Honda manual for the Alp says to torque the axle, pull on the brake and "bounce" the front forks up and down a few times to seat things, then tighten the clamp plate. Is there any particular reason you'd want the fork closer to the speedo drive?
That was what I figured.

Also, those support nuts are not done up very tight so I doubt are meant to take any strain.

And my other bike seems to be find done up flush.

I just wondered what stops the wheel sliding along the axle if there is that much play.

·
Older - maybe not wiser!
131 Posts
Hmmm . . .

The Alp is different, 'cos it doesn't have a mechanical speedo drive.