Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been really busy at work for the past few weeks so haven't had time to plan for my trip away next week!

I live in Portsmouth and looking to ride up to Wales across brecon beacons then ride north upto Snowdonia.. my welsh cousin reccomended I go over to Anglesey island whilst I'm up that way too.

I was then thinking of riding east across to the Peak districts, then North through the yorkshire dales eventually ending up in the Lake districts (would like to go kayaking on lake windermere (never kayaked before, nor have a great interest, just for some strange reason want to do it and thats what adventure ridings all about isnt it? do things you wouldn't normally do? haha)

Thing is, I've never done this touring stuff before, I don't have GPS (unless I find something in my budget this week) so I don't really know the best routes or time scales etc.. I've got 9/10 days to play with, any ideas how long my proposed destinations are likely to take? I will probably ride for most of each day but would like to stop if I see something interesting/photo opportunities etc.

Also, not sure how to come back? do I aim to get there about mid week then ride the same destinatations back but different roads etc or is there a better way back?

Would really appricieate tips and advice on planning this thing, I don't need too much detail as I'm riding solo and can "wing it" to a certain degree :) although currently not even sure of the best route to wales haha :D

I'd like to "see" things as well as ride nice roads so suggestions welcome :)

Camping all week.... (might stop at a premier inn or something for one of the nights maybe)

·
Austin's Son
190 Posts