• Hein Gericke

Votes: 6 60.0%

• Total voters
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie needing some advice re: clothing. I've just bought a 600 Transalp and am looking for some all weather touring/commuting kit. I'd like something that represents value for money so I don't mind spending a bit more if i'm getting something that is more durable/versatile etc. I've read lots of reviews and narrowed it down to the 2 below but I'm still open to other options. So which would you go for and why?

Richa Bonneville,
Richa Bonneville Textile Jacket - Black - FREE UK DELIVERY

or

Hein Gericke Tourer
Hein Gericke Tourer/Touring SHELTEX® Suit Jacket, grey-black

·
Registered
29 Posts
Hi, I have, over the years, wasted more money on bike clothing than I care to recall, though the best waterproofs I had were Rukka Jacket & Trousers which fitted over my leathers, & cost me £120 back in 1989! These lasted so many years, they stopped making them! :(
Since then I have had all manner of textile gear, Brands of which I won't mention other than to say they were a waste of money.
This time last year I 'bit the bullet' so to speak, & bought a set of Rukka textile armoured waterproof bike gear from Infinity in Southampton. I understand that they cost so much to prevent some from even looking at them, but I wish I had spent the money some years ago, then I wouldn't have wasted so much money on other brands which turned out to be useless!
They do a finance package if that helps.
Rukka gear is the best I've ever used, current kit is comfortable with built-in D3O armour & is waterproof & repairable: if any panel is ever damaged, it can be replaced!
Tim

Reactions: Coppice

·
Registered
969 Posts
Dont bother with waxed cotton for foul weather gear.
it looks good in the summer and in the bar.
Useless in heavy rain.
I wore Belstaff throughout the 80's and tried it again in the late 90's.
Modern textile gear was a revelation.

·
Registered
213 Posts