Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
bimbler
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from another new AT guy. I've just got my first AT (RD07) with the intention of going traveling (at some point!) on it. As i'm new to the bike, I decided to give it a service and general check.

The first thing that i noticed was that the rear shock had the spring wound to the "max height" end. When i ride the bike solo, I weigh about 80kg. And two up, about 140kg. So does anyone know where the spring should be adjusted to?
The next thing that i noticed was that the gearbox output shaft seems to be slightly worn. There is approx a 0.5mm step on the splined shaft, and the front sprocket (original honda) moves slightly. Does this mean, much to my horror, that soon I will have to replace the shaft, or is there some way to avoid it?

Also, as talked about in another post, the front right brake calliper doesn't seem to be working too good either. The left brake disk has a good polished look, where as the right disk is not so polished, and is slightly coloured, as though the pad is touching the disk, but not enough to work. I also thought that I had a problem with the rectifier, but it turned out to be some burnt connections on the end of the rectifier wires. Cleaned it all up, now and I have 14.2v at the battery with main beam and heated grips on.

Other than those few problems, i'm loving the AT. It so much more comftable than the super four that i've just progressed from. And the bike has sooooo much presence on the road, I cant wait to try it off the tarmac

Cheers.

Stu.

·
Registered
27 Posts
I have the standard rear shock set near max preload - this seems to suit the bike for a mix of solo and pillion riding. AT's tend to steer a bit like a barge, so stopping the back sagging helps.

The Honda design of sprocket retention on these bikes means that there is normally movement anyway.