Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
7,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I looking to get a reliable 6 to 7 volt (switched) supply from the bike to power a small 2 way radio on each of our bikes, using batteries is becoming a pain - can it easily be done with a resistor or something?
Preferably small & keep it simple - I'm no leccy expert!

At worst we could use a suitable mobile phone charger but would prefer something a bit smaller & without relying on ciggy lighter sockets.

Cheers, Phil

·
Premium Member
6,922 Posts

·
Serial Scenic Router
1,369 Posts
Maplins! go and ask the nerd behind the leccy counter! :thumb:

I've got a switchable cig charger unit, and am sure you could get something similar and take the guts out of it and wire it into something. It might need a heat sink or air flow though as it is vented?

·
Premium Member
6,922 Posts
Okay, here we go. This is the terribly complicated circuit that you will need -

And here is the pinout of the voltage regulator -

The Maplin part numbers are -

Voltage regulator - AW69A (TS7806CZ)

Capacitor C1 - RA52G

Capacitor C2 - RA49D

Oh, you'll also need a small bit of stripboard (veroboard) to make the circuit up on, but Maplin's sell this as well.

You might want to put a fuse in the supply from the bike's battery - something along the lines of twice or three times what the radio takes should be adequate.

These voltage regulators are pretty hard devices to destroy as they will cope with short circuits across their outputs and also being connected the wrong way round on the inputs too.

Any other questions, just ask.

Forgot to say, these regulators will supply up to 1 Amp, which I hope will be enough. You can (or rather should) bolt the regulators to some metal work for heatsinking. The tab is internally connected to the Ground pin.

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

·
Registered
7,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #6