Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - total newbie to dirt bikes here. Been lent a not-so-tip-top Honda XL250 Degree by a colleague, need to keep it up and running.

Problem no.1 (which you can't solve!) is I live in rural Cambodia - no mechanics here who I'd trust with anything beyond pumping the tyres. They just haven't ever worked on bikes bigger than 125 scooters. I can however pick up parts when I go to Phnom Penh. So any solutions to the issue below need to be SIMPLE enough for a novice!

Problem no.2 (which I hope you can help with)
The cooling system is in a bad way. Nothing in the overflow tank, can't even see any liquid in the radiator when I shine a light in. What I can see is that the elements inside are covered with brown ('rust'?) with similar stains on the outside of the radiator (Rubber O-ring on cap quite worn too). The hole from the rim to the breather tube is clogged up the same.
Of course the engine runs very hot very quickly!

So 2 questions:
i) Can this radiator be used/salvaged? If not, can you direct me to, or give me good SIMPLE step-by-step instructions for replacement?

ii) In the mean time can I fill up the cooling system with something so that it's safe to ride for the time being? e.g. just water? or coolant?

Appreciate your experience/thoughts on this!

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
I think I'd clean out all the rust I could, fill with water to check for leaks and circulation.
Power washer could be useful.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks catteeclan, glad you think all's not lost with this radiator. You mean fill just the radiator, or the whole cooling system with water? Remove radiator first I suppose?
Again, sorry for novice-level knowledge - any suggestions where to go for instructions etc.?

anyone else got thoughts?

·
Registered
1,702 Posts