Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Crap Chinese (?) MIG welder, even crappier instructions, and a complete welding numpty with all of it in his hands!

Here is my immediate dilemma.

Front subframe/indicator mount broke a couple of weeks ago, and I promised myslef I would fix it with the MIG welder that's sat in my garage with no plug on it for well over a year.

I've got NO welding experience.

Anyway, it's a GAS / GASLESS unit, and I sorta get the jist of all the controls.

I've fed the gasless wire in and tesioned it OK I think. It feeds OK when I squeeze the trigger.

HERE'S THE PROBLEM and it's not covered in the crappy instructions.

I've got a thick cable and plug coming out the front of the unit, and there are two places I can plug it into. One says GAS the other says NO GAS, so that should be fairly obvious. What I want to confirm is, does the earthing cable go into the opposing socket (so the one marked gas) when I'm working the welder with no gas and fluxed wire??????

I hope I've made myself clear?

The subframe has been taken off the bike, and the broken ends cleaned up nice and shiny with a wire brush on a drill.

QUICK ANSWERS PLEASE IF POSSIBLE.:confused:

Thanks

Bob :thumbup:

·
Cant stop 'tinkering'
1,818 Posts
Hi Bob,

not sure of the correct answer for you - might tell u wrong and u electrocute yourself !

what about welding forum:

MIG Welding Forum

·
Cant stop 'tinkering'
1,818 Posts
just done another quick search and then saw the pics of your welder. I think youre right - the front cable from the unit goes into the option you are welding - gas or gassless, and then your earthing cable goes into the spare open socket and then connected to the piece of work you are welding.

Good fun if its your first go !

Good luck

·
Registered
2,556 Posts
For gods sake practice for a while on something first ,only start to weld your bits once you are satisfied you can do it.