Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking of finding a 1980s XL500R to replace my knackered daily ride.
I have seen a few nice bikes for sale in Germany and a Paris Dakar version which was just outside my budget.
Is there anything I should look for when I am looking for one?
If you have owned one of these ,please share your thoughts about this classic thumper.:thumbup:

·
Registered
2,539 Posts
sorry I have no experience of them at all closest thing to them I ever rode were xl 250's and a cl 250 single and I loved them im pretty sure I would love xl 500's but I have it in my head the xl600 would be nicer another 100cc and all . I really love the look of the bikes from that era the dominator don't look a patch but might be more comfortable better wind protection electric start and all how about an xl600 lmt if you could find one very sexy bike maybe import one from the uk I have seen a couple on e bay uk recently or maybe even Italy ?

what you riding these days that it will be replacing ?

·
Ridden for years
2,806 Posts
Sexy and desire are very strong in the biking world... Ooh must be a Bonnie, @, Ducati yadda yadda.
You won't choose this, but don't knock it...
An SLR or Vigor.
Both have great torque and typical Honda 650 characteristics.
Very small and the front end looks too small, but great bikes.

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I have a 650 dommie project which is almost done so I now fancy summit else , either the XL500R which is my first choice but I also fancy a XBR 500 but I dont think my old back could handle the cafe racer position.
One thing you must remember chaps is that any bike I import into Denmmark is subject to 180% import tax calculated on the bikes price when it was new whatever it is.
The older the bike ,the less tax we have to pay.
If you get a bike 30 yrs or older its free from the tax.:thumbup:
Its a cXXt of a law but thats Denmark for ya.

$_57 (8).jpg