Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdo,
I'm new to biking. Passed my test in June this year, I'm 40 mid life crisis etc. Anyway I bought myself a spangly GSXF650f its great but after some browsing for a 'winter' bike I set my heart on a Dominator.
I bought one this week but have a few questions if I may? Id like to fit some heated grips first off but I'm far from handy with that kind of thing. Just wondered if you guys could give me some pointers.
Ive never used a choke or a reserve fuel tank or an idle screw. #ashamedface.

Thanks a lot.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Howdo Vince. Oxford hot grips are pretty good. YouTube is your friend for fitting guides, wiring and so on. Best to wire in to a switched feed (so you don't kill your battery by leaving the grips on overnight ) and use a relay. Choke is for cold starting, it changes the fuel-air mixture temporarily. Should only need it on for five minutes until the engine warms up.

The Dommie has no fuel gauge or warning light, so the reserve gets you to a fuel station. When the bike starts to stutter, switch to reserve and go for fuel. It's a skill to learn to do this without stopping! Refill with the tap set to ON, not Reserve. Setting the tap to OFF a quarter of a mile from home means fresh fuel into the carb next time you start up which makes cold starting easier.

Never touched my idle screw.

Lots of knowledgeable and experienced people on this forum so just ask. No such thing as a stupid question !

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Welcome to the zone Vincent..
Great choice for a winter bike..
A brand new battery wouldnt go amiss now that the winter months are upon us.
I just put one on mine and it makes starting much easier.
You are perfectly situated if you decide to try a bit of off road fun...
Good luck with it, they grow on you pretty quickly.:thumbup:

·
OVALTEENY !!!
6,063 Posts
Welcome to the forum

·
Registered
31 Posts