Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Those of us who've been into biking for a while have probably owned a certain number of bikes.

My recent TA purchase amounted to no.20 for me since I started riding in 1993.

I have bought and sold bikes and some have left more of a mark than others.

So, if storage and money were no object, and you could have any one of your old bikes back, in the condition you sold it, which would it be, and why?

As OP, I should give mine and being a typical indecisive bugger I can't decide which model, so I'll take OP privilege and name two:

My T reg TL1000S, that I sold a year after buying it new (the only bike I've ever ordered new) with 8k miles on the clock: It was just too expensive for me to run at that time, being 25.

Why that? The bike remains one of the best looking I have ever seen, the engine suited my riding stiyle like a glove and I frankly loved riding it. I've had great bikes since, but none quite evoked the same exhilaration when ridden hard, nor the simple contentment when ridden civilly!

Or

My H reg Honda CB-1.
By comparison, being a full 80 bhp behind the TL, and being a revvy 4, the bike was a very different animal. Yet somehow, Honda had made a fantastic bike: everything was efficient and purposeful with simple but pleasing looks, and if you picked your gears well, it made excellent progress. Such a brilliantly balanced bike!! Proof, if any were needed, that power does not mean better...

My 1150GS almost made it in there, but that niche is already filled by the TA at this stage.

So over to you.

Given my lack of discipline shall we say either 1 or two candidates, not more, and ultimately one of them for your stables....?

D

·
0 Posts