Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
DILLIGAF
1,685 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over the past few months I have borrowed my partners learner bike (YBR 125) every now and again, and I've probably done 200 miles or so on it. And you know what, the way learner riders are treated by other motorist is appalling. I've probably seen more sh!te driving and acts of aggression in those 200 miles than I have in the 30,000 miles I've done since I started learning to ride on my own learner bike.

On TWO separate occasions I have been in a holding road position on a main road, and I've had a car squeeze between the bike and the kerb, with barely a *** papers width between either, just because I was sticking to the limit! I have NEVER had that happen to me on my 'Alp, or even on my varadero 125 when I had it. I have had several cars at side roads waiting to pull out sit there for ages then pull out at the last second, only to stop dead in front of me when they realise they cant make it after all, then give me a look as if to say its my fault ... " hell, it's only a learner motorcyclist they dont matter do they " :mad:

And to cap it all of today i was on a flowing back roads on my way home, and when I moved over to the left side of the road to take the long a sweeping right hander, he took it upon himself to push me into the gutter on a blind corner, with half his car on the opposite side of the road, and go round at the exact same speed at me!

I worry enough about her out there as it is, and when bikes with L plates get treated this badly, its only making me feel worse.... :(

·
Registered
924 Posts
i couldnt agree more.
i only switched from a 125 vara to an AT at christmas, and the difference in drivers attitude is massive.
id have to say tho, im not sure how much of it is down to just the L plates, and how much of it is down to sheer road presence from a bigger bike.