Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm fairly new to biking, so far i've never let the bike out of my sight on a ride which obviously isn't ideal. Please can you advise what solutions you have? I have a motorbike chain but it weighs 12+kg so I dont know how best to transport it? Seem to think the rear rack is only rated to 9kg? I'm worried an alarm will just drain the battery every time I want to go out. The steering lock can be broke and then the bike just pushed away? Am i just being paranoid and worrying about nothing? Will a smaller chain through the rear wheel be enough?

TIA,

Rob

·
Registered
142 Posts
I think your being abit paranoid rob, the only time i take a security divices is if i am having a few nights away on the bike i use a thatcham approved disc lock but take care with these as ive just smashed my front mudgauard on my other bike while moving things around in the garage!.

·
Registered
527 Posts
ive just smashed my front mudgauard on my other bike while moving things around in the garage!.
Ha ha ha

TBH Shaun if you haven't ....... then yet not really a biker! Mine was a GSXR750L

·
Registered
2,539 Posts
google bike locks . I have a chain and pad lock bough from a hardware shop that I lock my front wheel to a metal railing with its not too heavy it will prevent people just riding off or lifting it into a van if I am going somewhere I take it but normally I just have a cable lock in my top box . nothing will stop determent scum in white transit vans they use battery powered small angle grinders go trough the best lock money can buy like a hot knife threw butter in a minute flat the bastards can even detect trackers on a bike you cant win with them . certainly a good strong disc lock with slow down opportunists but attaching it to something as well will help . :thumbup:

·
Registered
2,539 Posts