Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
been a long time since I've posted still riding the dominator but I need to find a mechanic capable of overhauling the carburetor new jets seals etc... fuel economy is not so good at the moment and it's started to smoke so needs new valve stem seals and a service I've lost the use of a garage and need to get the bike ready to take me to Spain... I live in weston super mare somerset...close..ish to bristol anyone recommend me a good man that will do the work so I can rely on the beast to make the trip???

tried a few local mechanics that I wouldn't let near my push bike after bad experiences and costly bills... I used to do most jobs myself but moving and emigrating to Spain and never got to do all the jobs in the to do list

·
Registered
356 Posts
Hi Rex.
I'm a senior Technician for BMW and I also run my own company called Moto Revive. I'm also a massive Honda fan. I restore and rebuild Dommie's, XRs, Africa Twins and Transalps all day long..

I'm on The Wirral, but If you can send me your carb in the post I can strip, clean and rebuild it to your specification.

Quite a few forum members have done this. No complaints yet !!

I even have quite a few people who send me their complete bikes to do. With the bigger jobs, even with the couriers fees I end up much cheaper and I know these bikes inside out !!

I know what you mean about lack of good technicians. All the younger guys in the dealer's that I work in are trained to replace, rather than repair... Its sad.

And with the newer bikes, that's often all you can do.. A dying art perhaps.

I'm old school :)

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Hi Rex.
I'm a senior Technician for BMW.
A dying art perhaps.

I'm old school:clown::clown::clown:
Motorbike mechanics are an endangered species.:(:(:(
My half Scouse/Danish son is in his second year as a bike mechanic here in Denmark.