Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
736 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone used memory map 50k on the iPhone for off road,

I have the app on my phone but only gives you base map of uk, it says for £24.99 I can get 50k land ranger which gives you over 30 times the size of the Lake District, over 70,000sqkm.
I would of course still have a map and not depend on the phone, simply use it as a quick guide so as not having to stop and check all the time, I tried it today in the truck on Salisbury Plain with data turned off and it track ok.

I'm just not sure as I have a Garmin gps map 60cx which I use to track and check grids on the map ect but no maps installed, but as I'm a tech biff I was just wondering peoples opinion on it and best options.

Bazz

·
SHW'MAE BUTT
3,270 Posts
Bazza put the maps on you phone to look at and plan whilst having a poo. Dont rely on the phone to go out in the sticks. We have had many a walker and mountain biker do the same, and when the phone goes flat or hit by a rock your buggered.

Some of the guys use memory map and just print out the section their going in and laminate it for durability.

·
Registered
4,162 Posts

Some of the guys use memory map and just print out the section their going in and laminate it for durability.
+1 plan and paper :)

even with the Garmin V I have a map printed out from Gooogggllole watsit and stuff.

I have all the os maps on my chinese SAT nav.. but still prefere paper as a back up or to follow Steve T :thumbup:

·
Registered
736 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Don't get me wrong I would never go out without maps especially as a Mountain Leader I full understand that, it would be used as a quick guide while moving, I still use road maps as I don't trust GPS's when in the trucks.
I was just wondering on the quality and speed.

Bazz

·
Registered
4,162 Posts
See your point bazza, back-up :)