Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
AfricAddict
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I've been reading around the forum lately and worked up an apetite for some quality time in the garage... ;)

So I've stripped all the fairings and I'm ready to start actually improving things (or hope to anyway)...

[/IMG]

[/IMG]

The list:

Oil + flilter
Sparks
Air filter
Valve adjustment
Installation of a pair of progressive WP springs
Removal of the rear shock
Bar risers (I'll take them from the TA, they are 2cm)
Minor paint jobs
Clean the areas that never get cleaned

The background:
This is my first time servicing the AT (bought it fairly recently), and although the V52 is no stranger to me, I still need some help sorting things out.

The questions:

It's a '96 RD07, I'm too bored to look into haynes, so if anyone could give me the valve clearances I'd appreciate it.

My clutch basket has been very noisy, but I won't fix it just yet, I can't anyway by myself, too advanced for little me, but I was wondering if a thicker oil could make it a bit less noisy. I normally use motul 5100 15-50 which is great for Greece but i should try something else for the clutch?

I've read that many fellow AT owner have had problems with sticky choke cables, I don't have that problem (yet), but do you believe there are preventative steps? I was thinking of lubing the cable near the engine, would that work or would it prove ineffective?

Lastly, what do you use to clean the residual sticky oil mud around the sprockets? I normally use WD40 and patience, but I would love to hear about something more effective.

That's all for now, sorry for the long post and I look forward to hearing your thoughts. Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
225 Posts
Hi, cold valve clearances are:

Intake: 0,15 ± 0.02 mm
Exhaust: 0,20 ± 0.02 mm