Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm new to trail bikes as I have just bought an old (94) Transalp - which I love having come from sports bikes - brilliant view of the road, great torque from the twin, and pretty good handling too, which I wasn't expecting. Overall I'm very happy to be on the XL....it's quite relaxing not going at sports bike speeds.

Can anyone help if they have had a similar issue. I bought a pair of AXO boots from ebay yesterday - only been used a couple of times and I think they are pretty cool. The issue is that I have just tried them on the bike (stationary) and it is near impossible to hook the left boot under the gear leaver without contorting your leg forwards as if you are falling on your knees....I'm sure that it wouldn't be safe riding like that! There just dosn't seem to be the space for a hard core MX boot to get in there. The only thing I can think of doing is to remove the foot peg rubbers to open up the gap between the peg and lever....has anyone had similar issues?

If so how did you fix it? The pegs don't look adjustable, and I really don't want to sell the boots! That would be a pain...

Any help greatfully recieved

Cheers
Rog

·
geriatric
2,474 Posts
Welcome to the forum mate,i'd suggest adjusting the position of the lever,move it up a bit. It does mean you have to lift your foot to sort of stamp it down the gears but enables the boot to get under the lever. If htey're new boots you have to give them a bit of time to loosen and soften up a bit,it's a case of looking stupid in front of the mrs walking round in them to break them in.i soak mine in the bath in warm water then wear them while really wet and soft so the leather gives more easily.Once dry they feel miles better.

·
Wing Commander
14,437 Posts
Hi All,