Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Space Emperor
655 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
OK, this is weird and I'm not very good with electrics, so desperately need some help!

The Facet fuel pump on my RD07a doesn't run. BUT if connected directly to the battery, it runs fine.

The battery is fairly new, and measures 12.8v, engine off. All bike electrics run fine, and bike runs fine on gravity feed.

Measuring the harness wires going to the pump, but pump not connected, it shows:
  • 0v when the ignition is off
  • 11.5v when ignition is on, engine off (this should be 0v ??)
  • 12.4v with engine idling
  • 12.8v with the pump connected and engine idling

Resistance between pump harness wires is 0.9, and the same for black wire to frame. Red wire to frame is 0.

What's going on here? It seems to me that if I can measure 12.8v on the wires when the pump is connected, it should run???

What's the next step? Fuel cut-off relay? I'm at a loss ...

·
Space Emperor
655 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
If bypassing the relay, which wires should I bridge?

·
Registered
2 Posts
If bypassing the relay, which wires should I bridge?
View attachment 166251
if you want to bypass icu, the blue with yellow wire come from icu, so to bypass relay need to connect two others. I dont have rd07a, but checked on wiring diagram.
My english is bad, but I try to ask... this problem was started suddenly or that was all the time you have this motorcycle? If that was all the time, the is a chance that somebody messed up wires after cleaning or what, because on wiring diagram blue one with yellow is in middle.

·
Junior
473 Posts
Showing voltage that don't mean it could carry amps, connect halogen buld to wire ends at pump and see if it lights up if not yiu need to trace could be partly broke wire or bad ground

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

·
Space Emperor
655 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the help guys!