Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi every body

As the title says i am new on the forum as i am new to the world of thumpers.
I have just bought a 1995 dominator 650 and like all newbies i have a host of ideas/modifications (which i will obviusly share with you guys in the fullness of time) i want to make to my dominator but i need to get a few things straight first and i recon that from what i have read on here this is the best place. so..................

I have basiclly learnt from reading the forum that these engines need to breath better than they do in stock form and the questions below are just to confrim what i have learnt to make sure i have got it right.

1. The dominator and the FMX have virtually the same engine but the frame is different so i cant fit the Arrow FMX header pipes on to my single Dominator Arrow can?
Is my best bet this http://supermoto-umbauten.de/109/Krümmer.html

2. Can i make all of these changes to my 1995 dominator?
http://www.4strokes.com/tech/honda/xr650lcarbmods/
http://www.4strokes.com/tech/honda/xrlsmog/

3. is it possible to remove the air box and replace with a bolt on air filter? The bike is to be supermoto'd so road only use.

my last question is a running issue. It starts first time and pulls well through the rev range but if i cruise at say 60mph it feels like the engine is stuttering as if there is a alack of lubrication or lose of compression???
are there any standard problems this could be?

cheers

·
Registered
61 Posts
My 92 Domie has a Laser exhaust and the carb mods made a big difference for me - I'm still not convinced the mixture is bang-on though so I'm going to continue playing when I get the bike back on the road (doing lots of other stuff).