Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! After 30 years of pretty serious bicycle riding, I just decided a couple of months ago i'm ready to ride a motorcycle. I geared up, took a basic rider course, put a few miles in on a friends little 250 Suzuki and after a month of intensive searching, found a beautiful, close to stock and super clean 1990 TransAlp XL600v (28k miles). Of course, the day after I bought her, it snowed and the temp dropped to 13 degrees F. Grrr.

These bikes are super rare here in the states, so I'll be lurking this forum from the other side of the world for clues, insight and tricks (wondering about that XR650 front end upgrade, already).

I'll be sure to (inadvertently) violate some rule of decorum, and ask questions with answers any experienced person would laugh at, so asking for some latitude for a few days :^). As compensation, I'm a professional photographer, so feel free to ask me any questions you might have about that... Now to try uploading a picture of the TA, that currently waits in my living room/studio for the weather to improve.

Thanks for all your contributions, past and future. And is that Xenon headlamp really $200?

TWMeyer-20180117-3252.jpg

·
Registered
2,539 Posts
welcome along Tom you guys in USA only got the Transalp for 2 years but luckily the best model in my humble opinion I ride a 90 myself :D but you got the best paint job that moon stone is the bomb :cool: you very lucky to pick up such a well preserved low mileage example with some tasteful extras added . don't be shy to ask any questions you have plenty or reading in the Transalp forum to help you get to know your bike you should check out transalp.org too its a USA based forum and you have a Transalp rally every year over there hopefully not to far away from you also ADVrider.com has a huge thread on Transalps take a month straight to read it all :thumbright:

·
Registered
7,741 Posts
Hi Tom and welcome.