Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's nearly time to get new tyres for my Dommie. No idea how long the current BT-45s have been on there (I've done 7,000 miles on them) but they're well worn now.

What's the weapon of choice for road-going inner-tubed Dommies these days? The Bridgies are ok, if a little squirmy going across white paint or overbanding. Interestingly, I just noticed that the front tyre has the word "Tubeless" embossed on it! :eek:

·
Registered
358 Posts
I'm not an expert, I cant even lean my bike into a corner correctly as I lack confidence. I am however working on that and have recently swapped from Avon Distanzia to Micheline Anakee 3. Now I have noticed a big difference for me. I only ride to work and back. Maybe one day I will do some simple green lane stuff, obviously not much with these tyres.

I feel they grip a lot better in the wet, scrubbed them in as recommended and feel good with them. I'm going to hopefully do a track day in March which will help me with the corners.

In fairness I heard the BT-45s were/are a good road tyre, I went for the Micheline's as I do intend to do some off road ish stuff one day. I ordered them online and got sent to my house. Then got a local tyre place to fit them.

Reactions: Fitz

·
Registered
164 Posts
Another vote from me for the anakee 3. Great grip and stability wet or dry.
They're a bit expensive, and their 'cut in' tread design isn't to everyone's taste.
IMHO I think they're more stable and grippy on tarmac than conventional knobbly tread designs.
I've only used them on tarmac though - so can't comment on their off-road performance.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Bought a Dommie recently which still had Avon Slipsters on. Replaced them with Conti Trail Attack 2 's which work well on our XT600 and so far feel great on the Honda.
Cheers
Min

·
Registered
2,997 Posts