Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Help needed please!!!... ;-)
I've spent 5 years off and on trying to get an old 1996 Dommie working that I got off eBay.
I soon realised that the original engine was fried, low compression, sludge oil, so replaced it with a 2005 FMX engine.
Removed and blanked off the emission system.
On inspection, the carb looks to have been modded with 'Daves mods', its the original RD08 Keihin carb, in fairly good nick.
The guy I bought it from (eBay) said he heard from the original owner (long ago) that it had been modded.
The bike has an original airbox..
Pilot screw is in unknown position.
I'm new to tuning, have done a bit of research, but don't know where to start to fix this.

OK, symptoms, I did a first start..
It requires little or no choke to start and idles but pretty rough, it occasionally stalls.
If it stalls it hard starts, and i can smell gas through the exhaust, its flooded.
Any choke whatsoever leads to very rough idling and some sputtering/small backfires.
Any throttle whatsoever leads to some massive backfires, I cant add much throttle as it cuts out.

I'm thinking its way too rich.. but I may be wrong.

Can anyone suggest something for me to try?

Ideally I'd like, I think, to cut off the airbox restrictor, and re-jet/re-tune with 'Daves mods' (I think I'm half way there) for better, smoother and cooler running. Shall I just cut that off before I do anything else?

·
Registered
198 Posts
Don’t cut anything off.

First thing is to screw in the mixture screw all the way in and then turn it 2.25 to 2.5 turns out. That will give you a rough start on the mixture. The only adjustment is the mixture screw which will only affect the tick over. The mixture adjustments at revs is sorted by the main jet but you need the bike running to give an ideas of which way to jet (up or down).