Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I plan to replace the clutch springs and plates on my 99 Dommie this weekend. The problems have been:

- terrible clutch action described by the MOT tester as like 'pulling on a rubber brick'
- clutch sticking when cold and then releasing with a bang.
- clutch slip
- and now the clutch cable has just given up.

I have a new cable and heavy duty spring/plate set, which seem easy to fit.

Is this likely to cure the problem or should I check anything else when doing it?

Any advice much appreciated.

Cheers

Jon

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
I want to order a new clutch next week so I am going to watch this guys other videos.
As I have never done a clutch before I have a couple of questions.
Do the EBC clutch kits that are for sale on the web come with a gasket or do I have to buy it seperately and what is the difference between standard springs and the heavy duty ones?
Do heavy duty springs mean a heavier clutch action at the clutch lever?
Thanks for the heads up about the videos ,just goes to show your never too old to learn something new. :thumbup:

·
Ridden for years
2,806 Posts
I haven't a Dommie anymore but advice should be the same.
Changed my XT last month and fitted EBC plates and heavy springs.
Heavy springs I think were designed more for dirt bikes which get some serious stick.
Heavy springs make the clutch about 10-15% heavier. If this were my Airhead BM I'd worry, but XTs, Dommies etc have such a light clutch, I saw and see no issues. I can report that my clutch is still very light.
No, the clutch kit will not come with a gasket.

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
I found an EBC clutch in Germany that comes with stronger springs and a gasket so I will order it today so it should be here next week:thumbup:

http://www.ebay.de/itm/251751728577?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT