Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have travelled on business in Ireland a few times a year for the last 20 years so I am aware of the geography of area. But I am not an expert on the routes in Ireland. However having had a chat with a friend of mine who now lives in Newbridge I though it may be helpful to share the fruits of the discussion and my knowledge with those on TLD who maybe interested.

For people who have not travelled much on the road in Southern Ireland please bear in mind that designation like N4 refer to a route and not to a single road so you may have to apparently turn off the road to stay on the route. Read all junction signs as you come to them. Know the next places your heading to as sometimes the signage is not all it could be.

Most road sign distances are in Km but there are still a few, especially in the quieter areas that are in miles.

As far as I have found there are no service stations on the motorways but then there is not that many miles of motorways. Petrol stations on the whole have a small shop especial with the major chains, so it is possible to fuel both bike and rider.

Below is the route I will most likely take, however it is not the definitive route. My track thorough Dublin is one I have used before although the buggers keep changing the road junction layouts which can be confusing. It is not the easiest route through Dublin to follow and they are / were undertaking monumental road works around the N7/M50 interchange.

Getting out of Dublin. (People who live in Dublin get lost in Dublin!)