Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All.
I am new to this two wheel thing so be gentle.
Are Simpson bandit helmets road legal or not. I am looking at buying a helmet for the 1st time and would fancy a Stig style lid, but I dont know what legal approvals to look for.

Any advice is greatly accepted.

wizard

·
Registered
338 Posts
I'm not 100% but I remember reading somewhere that Simpson Bandit helmets are US Snell classified but not DOT UK road legal, even though I remember reading that Snell is a tougher testing process :rolleyes:
All the top dragster drivers/riders/pilots seem to wear Simpson's, so they can't be too bad :cool:

Incidentally, years ago I had one of the European made (German I think) 'Bandit' helmets & I'm sure they're not approved for UK road use either

·
Registered
69 Posts
I was after a simpson lid but the price and the fact they I couldn't decide whether they are uk legal or not put me off so I tried a german craft helmet in mat black and to be totally honest I cant fault it. a fraction of the cost for a similar look. probably not everybodies cup of tea but im pleasantly surprised and happy with it !!!

·
Born to Slide
1,741 Posts
If I recall one of the reasons is the limited visibly you get due to the visor shape. Not a good idea to limit what you can see!

·
one of the lost boys
6,127 Posts

·
The Angry Pasty Muncher
6,170 Posts