Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

I've been riding my trusty Transalp daily now for 12 months. It was time for a new Chain and Sprocket set. I removed everything that was required and gave it all a good clean. Fitted both Sprockets then re-assembled with the new chain. Had some problems with riveting the master link as they'd not included the right kind of rivet master link. So after removing this I joined it using the Clip link provided. Aligned my back wheel, checked, triple checked the alignment but the chain seems to be snaking from left to right quite a bit... tried moving the chain rail plastic to see if it was this stopping it from running smoothly but nope.... My only thoughts are,

• Have i twisted the chain / damaged it whilst having problems riveting the master link
  • Have i missed something in the wheel assembly which would put the sprockets out of line?
  • Is the chain just badly manufactured and needs sending back...
At a bit of a loss... Any help of ideas much appreciated :) Here's a video of it.
>>>>>>https://youtu.be/2cBHI2bzUA4 <<<<<<<<<
It's not running in a straight line.... I also ran the engine and gently took it up the gears and i didn't like the sound when it got to higher speeds....

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just whilst I'm doing this, does this look like a normal amount of movement? This is the front Sprocket before i took it off. Upon inspection the splines looked OK, I know it's supposed to move a little but this does look like a lot of free-play to me...

https://youtu.be/tvv3YjrZSv0

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5