Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...ask other people how to do it ;).

Indeed, this is another Warthog Knowledge Base where I will type one emploring post and the sit back, hoping to be soon bathing in wisdom by association!!

A set of head race bearings are on order, and I then have until the 8th of July to fit them, minus 9 days when I am away.

This is a job that I've never done before and I would welcome any and all tips learnt the hard way by those of you who have.

I think I have a hang of the adjustment once in place, but it is the removal and placing of the bearing faces that worry me most: How to get the races out of the frame and, worse still, getting that race off the bottom yoke steering column.

As with the clutch, I'd like to get it done in a day...

·
Generalissimo Tea Boy
6,031 Posts
A proper drift will get the races out of the head stock in 2 or 3 taps.

I found a dremel was the best way of getting the lower bearing off after getting advice here.

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I found a dremel was the best way of getting the lower bearing off after getting advice here.
So which end of the Dremel do I hit for best results?

OK.... I'll stop typing for a bit...

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
On a more serious note, is there any "best practice" for getting those same new races into place.

With the "Dremel race" is heating it with a blow torch before hand a good idea of a bad idea. Ultimately, I don't want to affect the longevity of the bearings!

·
Registered
12,768 Posts
They must be offered up exactly flat so they enter the space straight, otherwise they could end up febared.

·
Generalissimo Tea Boy
6,031 Posts