Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
That post about the TA on a track day, and the fact that the SM wheels I had from the XR look a little odd on a TA, got me thinking.

So, grippiest tyres on a 600 TA? (standard wheels: road riding not dual sport...)

My guess is a pair of BT 45s (actually very good tyres: had them on a XBR500, TDM 850, CB-1, and managed to rim them on each...!!)

Any other choices?

·
Registered
779 Posts
Anakee's also get good writeups as a road tyre for transalps, but the BT45's are probably the best you'll get.

·
Registered
12,768 Posts
I dont think there are that many choices for the Transalp, most will be dual sport tyres.

·
8th Dimension Adventurer
161 Posts
I've been using Avon AM26 Roadriders for a few years and I can't fault them. Cheaper than BT45's, much better wearing (got 11,000 out of my last rear) and plenty grippy enough for commuting in all weather.

D

·
0 Posts
My old 07 Triumph Bonneville T100 had exactly the same size tyres as my XL700VA Transalp. They were made by Metzeler and were a superb road tyre which lasted well.

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Well, Avons are very dear here so it looks like a set of BT45s for the TA, some time in the new year with the worn TKC pair being used as a spare for camping trips into the forest!!

Having said that, I'll probably change my mind 18 times between now and then....

·
Need a job
168 Posts
Well, Avons are very dear here so it looks like a set of BT45s for the TA, some time in the new year with the worn TKC pair being used as a spare for camping trips into the forest!!

Having said that, I'll probably change my mind 18 times between now and then....
G'day warthog,

What kind of mileage do you get on a set of TKC's?

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
G'day warthog,

What kind of mileage do you get on a set of TKC's?