Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few of you have been following my thread regarding having my wheels rebuilt by central wheels and the wheel being badly built and them blaming me etc etc.
Anyway the have rebuilt my wheel and it's just arrived back and I need to know if I'm being picky but the drill holes on the new rim look way too big and my let in water also the don't like up with the bumps that they are supposed to be on.

Here are some pics please let me know if I am being fussy or if it is unacceptable

·
Administrator
1,781 Posts
I'm no expert, but it seems to me that they've drilled slightly out-of-line to the "bumps". So the nipples won't sit tidily in the rims - they won't fill the holes properly, and won't, I imagine, leave a smooth surface within, thereby encouraging wear and possible puncture of the inner-tube.

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm more concerned about the gaps around the nipples that will let water in and encourage erosion, it looks badly drilled to me but need a second opinion before I contact them

·
Registered
552 Posts
Don't know about the gap but it looks like a sloppy job to me.
Maybe it would be best if someone who had similar job done, by them or some other builder, could post pictures for comparison.

Anyhow I wouldn't be happy with this

·
Registered
367 Posts
im no expert on spoked rims either but have mounted enough tyres on spoked rims to know that those bumps are recesses on the other side for the nipple head. if you were to take the tyre off and check you will probably find the nipple head protruding and therefore pressing and rubbing on the tube (dont know if you are using a tube). those holes dont look professionally done. looks like drilled by a wobbly hand drill. i think your other wheel was safer than this one although aesthetially unacceptable. i hope you get it sorted. not a good way for the business to reclaim its reputation. mark

·