Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

This is my first time on the forum, so please be gentle with me!

About a year ago I bought a XL1000 Varadero V1 and I have fallen in love with it. Being a sports bike rider for years, I thought I would tidy it up and sell it on!

In between tidying and polishing, I started reserching various tuning & modifications that would suit me and my riding style from various XL1000 forums all over the web.

However, lots where vauge in their findings, leaving me to patch/cross reference missing info up with similar posts on different sites.

I am constantly hunting for parts for my Dero, and have recently won an Africanqueens sump guard (Ebay) from a member on this site I think?

The job I am currently fettling with is the fueling of the VTR carbs I fitted about 6 months ago.

The reason for this post is. if anyone is even considering this mod, I hope I can be of some assistance in iron out the truth from the fiction.

I have typed up instructions on the mod as I was carrying it out and if any one is intrested I will post here.

Looking forward to exchanging stories and ideas.

Regards Firedero.

·
2 bikes = twice as happy
4,354 Posts
Hi mate, I was after that sumpguard but forgot about it and didn't up my opening bid. Anyway if you dont fit the sumpguard or if you ever want to get rid of it give me first option on it.

Oh mines an FI model so can't do anything with the carbs question.

---
- Sent from my iPhone with a smile :)

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Hi Austin,

Sorry but I fitted it. It looks a bit um! different/odd, too much aluminium man.

I also had to chop the Givi crash bars lower lugs off as there was no way of using them. Hopefully I won't be needing them anytime soon........ I may regret that last sentence.

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Here are my findings and hope it might help someone out there who wants a change.