Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Bloody furriner
5,009 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to declare the dommie dead. :-(

With pain in my heart, it's my first bike and all that, lovingly altered and always a blast to ride, but I screwed it up and left it too long and it's too far gone now.

Last outing was during the winter of 2008-09 after the GS nearly dropped a valve and needed a head job sharpish. The NX already needed some TLC by then, the clutch doesn't entirely disengage and the rear suspension is quite shot (lively!). Then in February when the GS was rebuilt I started riding that again, as you do, and kinda forgot about the dommie. And forgot about it being covered in road salt. :oops: That's never been a problem before as I always kept using the bike. It wasn't getting any prettier but it'd rain off soon enough. :rolleyes:

But I forgot, got distracted, got crazy busy at work, got a GF, went to New Zealand, and before you know it it's May and the bike's rusted and rotted completely to hell. I then washed it and told myself I'd fix it. And now it's May again, and I've done f*ck all about it the past year.

So there we are. I think it needs a new clutch basket, I know it needs a rear shock + linkage rebuild, a few new spokes, new tyres, and by now the chain will be rusted solid, the front brake is completely seized on (and knowing nissin calipers... :roll:), the bare aluminium engine hanger plates are about half as thick as they used to be after I threw a bucket of water over them, the exhaust clamps and nuts are twice as big as they used to be, the battery will probably be dead, and, well...

I think I've kinda proven my point. It's dead, Jim. :(