Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have got my next door neighbour coming round to weld my frame loop in place today :wav:
Now he claims to be be a qualified smed....(danish for blacksmith) so I hope he knows what he is doing. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:.
I got my hands on a mig welding set and he said he has a tig welder he can borrow from his dad.
With me being a cabinet maker by trade ,I dont know the difference.:D:D:D
Could one of you learned chaps clue me in as which one is the best to choose just in case he has about as much of a clue as I have :thumbup:
I have checked my home insurance and I dont think it covers welding bike frames in your living room.....:clown::clown::clown:
I will post pictures if we dont burn the place down.

·
Registered
2,287 Posts
I'd go for the tig every time providing he can use it. the mig leaves a lump that has to be ground away to make things neat afterwards the tig uses the metal your welding topped up with a rod a bit like gas welding leaving a much neater weld with less work to tidy up after :thumbup:

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Just watched him tig weld it up and he looked like he was a bit out of practice.
We had to boost the lekky power from our laundry room because it was an industrial apparatus he had that couldnt be just plugged into the wall.
My gaff didnt burn down and tomorrow I will clean the weld up a bit and paint it ready for installing the rear Norton mudguard and anything else that needs to be done to get this thing pissing the other neighbours off.:thumbup:

·
Ridden for years
2,806 Posts
Having completed a beginners welding course last year, I bought an arc welder.
I wanted to spend max £200 and got the best.
But, if you want to do a lot of thin metal then tig.
All round? Pay decent money for a mig.
Yes my arc is great quality but really for at least 3mm metal, no good for car bodies. I wanted to make brackets etc.