Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1989 RD03 and the front end feels like it's made of jelly.

If I shake the bars when stationary the whole front end wobbles back up through the bars. This also happens when moving at low speeds (below 10mph) and when coming to a stop which throws the whole bike off balance. Once moving at speed is smooths out and disappears.

When moving at low speed it has the feeling of having a heavy passenger on the back who's moving around.

I've checked the head stock bearing, the front wheel bearing and tyre pressure. Everything appears to be tightened and there are no obvious signs that anything else is loose.

Does anyone have an idea of what could be causing it?

·
Registered
2,539 Posts
it might be coming from the back of a badly balanced front wheel or buckled front wheel . I am no expert just a couple of thoughts on the matter . my transalp 600 is behaving a little funny I suspect it might be headstock bearings as I do a good bit of forestry tracks on it and its got 78000 kms done now and I recon some tool that used to own it was a dab hand with a pressure washer ?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your reply.

I initially thought it might be a buckled wheel or wheel balancing but it wobbles when stationary and the wheel isn't going around so it can't be either of those. It feels like the forks are made of jelly and it continues to wobble if you shake the bars then hold them firmly.

·
Registered
2,539 Posts