Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So here’s the head before cleaning, in quite a sorry state:

And after:

Now obviously that is not good! But, given that a new head is very unlikely to be found, I am wondering how long it will last like this. From the first picture, and my own inspection, the carbon covering the actual crack had no mark or crack itself, meaning the crack is “static”.

Now, I know there will be some who will say don’t use it like this, but surely there is a chance the old bike will just plod on for a while yet, seeing that it has obviously run for quite some time in this state to get the build up of carbon over the crack??

What ya reckon?

Steve

·
Registered
1,625 Posts
I'm no XL expert, but how can you be so sure that you won't find a replacement? Or another engine waiting to be bought...

As for running it, yes, you may be able to run it for a while, i'm sure, but is it worth the risk? I don't know how the engine will pop when it does, but it'll probably happen when you're riding and who needs that, especially if you know the risk is much greater?

During an overtaking, mid corner etc...there's never a good time, but some times are notably worse...

Loosing power and seizing the back wheel mid corner aside, there is also the risk of explosive failure. Unlikely, but who knows, but as someone who often sits almost directly above an engine, I would not relish the thought of a piece of cam shaft blowing my proverbials off, mid corner or otherwise...

So, is it worth the risk? Can't you get it welded, then machined back?

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
When it fails it will prob loosen the valve seat so you'll end up with a bent valve, damaged head and possible guide and piston.
This is a common prob for all the rfvc engines so they're getting harder to get hold of secondhand.
My Dominator head is not to far off that and I've chosen to keep it in use.
Just a waiting game now.