Honda XRV Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all i recently restored my xr 400 not including the engine what i thought was fine, made a lovely job of the bike. Took it out yesterday and everything seemed fine until when i statred it back up there was some smoke coming from the pipe then after it warmed up it was back to normal with plenty of power. i have checked the oil today and its very low considering i only put new oil in yesterday. I have done some research and everything is pointing at valve stem seals:mad:. So i have the manual and have roughly read about changing them but was just wondering if any of you members have any tips or easy ways of doing these? any help would be greatley appreciated as i am new to engine work but have a good mechanical knowhow. thanks Adam

·
Registered
237 Posts
just follow the manual mate.a lot of valve spring compressors made for cars wont fit,something to be aware of before you fork out for one.would advise lapping valves in before rebuild.depends on age and all that but its deffo worthwhile in my book.

good way to check if oil consumption is seals or rings is to roll down a hill on the overrun then pull the clutch in and rev it.if it smokes its valve stem seals.worn rings tend to pump out visible smoke at high revs.my xr started to use oil at eighteen months old.a more fussed over bike you wouldn't meet.always warmed up gently before being revved,oil and filters changed religiously,and never hammered.yet,oil stem seals went.seems to be an xr thing,at least the air-cooled ones.

·
The Angry Pasty Muncher
6,170 Posts