Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the chance to buy a 1988 AT (XRV 650 03) or a 1990 XRV 750 (04). Both are similarly priced and in good nick. They are both in HRC colours. What are the relative merits of each and dare I say... which should I go for?? I am new to ATs

Cheers,

David

·
2,701 Posts
I have a rd04 and have ridden a nice rd03.
Given the choice of similar condition and price, my choice would be rd03.

ps
welcome to the site.

·
Registered
121 Posts
I have the chance to buy a 1988 AT (XRV 650 03) or a 1990 XRV 750 (04). Both are similarly priced and in good nick. They are both in HRC colours. What are the relative merits of each and dare I say... which should I go for?? I am new to ATs

Cheers,

David
Perhaps the absolute numbers are in favor of 750 but the "setup", the quality, the "handling" is in favor of 650.

XRV650 of course...

·
Premium Member
7,170 Posts
I have both, so feel relatively qualified to answer.

If it was me, it would all come down to overall condition of each bike, even though I am really keen on the RD03. I'm a purist, so I would be looking at originality and how well the thing has been cared for.

It's worth bearing in mind that each bike is quite old now, and rarity can affect the price of spares, particularly bodywork, so I would looking at the cosmetics of each machine carefully.

Both are brilliant bikes and very reliable if cared for properly. Buy wisely and you'll never lose money or value.

I'm sure you know that the RD03 was never an official UK bike, so any over here are imports. It's not really a problem, but picky MOT examiners could pick up things like headlamps that dip in the wrong direction etc.

The usual things to be particularly vigilant with when buying any Africa Twin are;