Honda XRV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Older, but no wiser!
3,836 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Not a pushbike, that's obvious!!

I am trying to wangle a trip before hay harvest sets in and have been looking at a couple of places I would like to go and see "oop North". While doing me planning, I started to wonder a bit about Youth Hostels when touring. I like camping, and I like the whole experience I get when travelling by bike and then setting camp at the end of the day, but when the weather is Sh**ty....

So, has anyone had some experience of YHA and the reception you get if you roll up on a bike these days? I know they (are supposed to) have moved on from demanding you arrive on foot or bicycle, but what could I expect? How does the food end of the deal go?? I have NO experience of the YHA, as you can tell!

Second query on the same vein, how realistic is it to use a YH instead of B&B for a slightly fussy passenger....? :)

·
SHW'MAE BUTT
3,270 Posts
BOOK where you want to go and ask for a family room they cost about £18 PN for BB. They are no RITZ but all facilities are clean and dry. Look on the Internet for YHA centres.

·
Older, but no wiser!
3,836 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
BOOK where you want to go and ask for a family room they cost about £18 PN for BB. They are no RITZ but all facilities are clean and dry. Look on the Internet for YHA centres.
Cheers J. Sounds pretty good value to me, how do you guys do your catering in a YH?

I have had a look at some YH and noted that a few have family or double rooms, around £40/night. I think i will be coughing up for a years subs....

·
Older, but no wiser!
3,836 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
We had no problems with the Scottish Youth Hostels we stayed in. In fact most people at the two hostels we frequented had arrived by car.